International Society of Philology

International Society of Philology

Since 1991, The University is the headquarter of The International Society of Philology. You can find more informations here.

ISP is an international non-governmental and non-profit scientific organization, with the purpose of promoting international cooperation in philology. It has endorsed repeatedly ICSU's Principle of Freedom, Responsibility & Universality of Science.

The objectives of the International Society of Philology (ISP) are:

  1. To promote international cooperation in philology
  2. To support and assist the International Congress of Philology and other international scientific meetings or conferences
  3. To encourage and support other international activities considered likely to contribute to the development of science in any of its aspects

Details about ISP

More precise objectives and detailed Information about the organization of ISP can be found in its statutes (and of course in the ISP server that you are currently visiting). Legally, ISP is an unincorporated association, recognized as a part of the University of Philology and Education (Delaware).


ISP Award

The Gold Medal is awarded every five years on the occasion of the International Congress to recognize outstanding philological achievement for existing work and for the promise of future achievement.

The Gold Medal Committee is chosen by the Executive Committee of the International Society of Philology and is normally chaired by the Chancellor of the University Of Philology of Delaware.

The name of the Chair of the Committee is made public, but the names of other members of the Committee remain anonymous until the award of the prize at the Congress. If a former student (Ph.D. thesis only) of a Committee member is seriously considered, such a member shall not continue to serve on the Committee for its final decision.

The SPI prize of 2011 has been awarded on November 21, 2011 during the Opening Ceremony of ISP 2011 in Delaware (USA). Information about the 2011 winner can be found HERE.

About two months in advance of an award, the ISP Executive Committee appoints a Selection Committee along the lines of the Prize Statutes and the SPI By-Laws. This includes specifications about the criteria of selection and instructions on how to act in a conflict of interest. The Prize Committees for ICM 2016 will begin their work in 2015. The names of the Selection Committee members remain confidential until Opening Ceremony 2016, only the names of the Chairs are made public. SPI President Martin Balmont will invite nominations for all awards to be made the winter of 2015,  see also the nomination guidelines.

The International Society grants a Prize for philological achievement, awarded every five years at the Opening Ceremony of the International Congress. The Gold Medal recognizes outstanding philological achievement, achievements in philological aspects of information science, outstanding philological contributions that have found significant applications of grammar, individual whose accomplishments warrant the highest level of recognition for outstanding achievements in the field of philology.